Police and courts in New Jersey take driver licensing and insurance requirements very seriously. NJSA 39:3-40 provides for a fine of up to $500, an additional suspension, and possible jail sentence for a first offense for driving with a suspended license.
For a second offense, the fines and the length of suspension increase and a jail sentence is MANDATORY for driving with a suspended license. NJSA 39:6B-2 provides for fines up to $1,000 and the loss of driver's license for up to one year for driving without auto insurance coverage.
A subsequent conviction for this offense could result in a PERMANENT loss of your driving privileges. In addition to the fines for these offenses, you may also face a mandatory $100 annual surcharge for up to three years.
If you have been charged with driving without a license or without insurance in Atlantic County, Ocean County or Monmouth County, call the Law Offices of James P. Brady in Toms River. I am an attorney who has been protecting the rights and driving privileges of people for more than 30 years.
Traffic violations defense is one of my primary areas of practice. I have represented clients in cases involving first, second and third offenses for driving with a suspended license and have helped resolve the matter without the maximum penalties allowed by New Jersey statutes. By means of thorough investigation, preparation and knowledge of the State statutes, I am often able to find strategies that will help you avoid the harsh penalties that municipal courts impose for traffic violations.
Contact an Experienced Toms River and Lakewood Driver's License Lawyer
From my office in Toms River, I advise and represent clients in communities throughout Ocean County, Atlantic County and Monmouth County, New Jersey. Call me toll free at 800-599-1882 or contact my office by e-mail to arrange a free consultation with an experienced Toms River lawyer today.